link to home page
Bullitt County Public Schools: The Leader in Educational Excellence
pause the news ticker expand the news ticker

January 2020 is School Board Recognition Month

Bullitt County Board of Education

As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January 2020, Bullitt County Public Schools is joining in the celebration.

Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, Steve Hornback and Linda Belcher are among more than 850 school board members in the state’s 173 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.

“This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex,” said David Webster, President of the Kentucky School Boards Association.

“Members of the Bullitt County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in the district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Webster said. “To do that, members oversee a $165 million budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.”

“The voters in Bullitt County have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high quality teaching and learning,” said Bullitt County Public Schools Superintendent Jesse Bacon.

“At a time when state and federal funding continue to shrink, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” Bacon said. “Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for education excellence for our children.”

Proclamations have been sent to county government and city leaders encouraging them and all citizens to take time to thank school board members for their service.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Bullitt County Public Schools
1040 Highway 44 East
Shepherdsville, KY 40165