Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
link to home page
Bullitt County Public Schools: The Leader in Educational Excellence
expand the news ticker

District Elementary School STEM Challenge

District Elementary School STEM Challenge

Primary and intermediate students who claimed victory in their respective school Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Challenge brought their skill sets to the district competition.

The challenge was to create a rubber band car that would travel to a desired location which was 8 feet from the starting line.     

District STEM Coordinator Jaymee Clemens of Crossroads Elementary School said students would learn how to create potential and kinetic energy.

“The challenge would harness the kinetic energy to use a movement for the car to propel to the desired location,” she explained. “Students also learned about teamwork during the STEM challenge because they had to rely on each other and build on each other’s knowledge. Students learned that even though a challenge is tough that they have the ability to preserve and continue to improve in all areas, no matter how hard.”

Students had a time limit and could only use the materials provided. All school winners received a medal. Trophies were given to the winning teams.

Nichols students earned First Place in the Primary Division. Students in primary and intermediate grades who competed in the district STEM Challenge are Chloe Hurst, Parker Bailey, Izabell Mark, Baylee Haysley, Claudia Radcliffe, Darah England, Hannah England and Ruby Hunt.

Shepherdsville scored Second Place in the Primary Division. Students in primary and intermediate grades who competed in the district STEM Challenge are Aaron Carter, Donny Bledsoe, Haylee Anderson, Lucas Brown, Henry Zimmerman and Gracie Hightower.

Pleasant Grove earned Third Place in both primary and intermediate. Primary second grade students are Will Egan, Carson Fryrear, Zoe Mondun, and Kylie Flaherty. The STEM Coordinator is Tonya Bibee and her assistant coach is Kristy Wasinger.

PGES intermediate fourth and fifth grade youth are Kaylee Dries, Avery Wasinger, Jensen Nickell, and Vincent Benfield.

At the Intermediate level, Brooks secured First Place. Students are Isabella Okes, Delaney Lawson, Lyndsey McMullan and Addison Shafer.

Cedar Grove students earned Second Place. They are Lilly Allen, Shyann Weakley, Aiden Huffman and Cooper Shofner.

School STEM winners are:

Brooks (primary) – Frank Riggie, Gavin Capps, Kaiden Buckman and Joshua Cahill.

Cedar Grove (primary) - Owen Godbold, Kaden Nusz, Luke Conely and Chris Locker.

Crossroads – Evie Kardols, Zachary Webb, Ethan Stickling, Luke Cox, Kennedy Scott, Brayden Warren and Andrew Harbert. The STEM Coordinator is Jaymee Clemens.

Freedom – Molly Johnson, Brayden Miles, Keelyann Oliveira, Joshua Nunn, Audrey Elmore, Alay Shi Butler, Lauren Coleman and Cole Edwards. Susan Johnson is the STEM Coordinator.

Lebanon Junction – Jacob Rodgers, Hank Shewmaker, Taylor Thompson, Madisyn Schroader, Josh Gerald, LeeAnna Hodge, Brooke Coleman and Gaven Lakes. The STEM Coordinator is Mike DiEnno.

Maryville – Alexis Chambers, Mikayla Scheer, Kennedy Reneer, Aiden Caulk, Kendall Barnett and Bryce Sanders. Kacie Fiske is the STEM Coordinator.

Mt. Washington – Renee Whitfill, Lane Whitley, Jacob Blum, Connor Uhling, Tanner Stevens, Carli Morgan, Noah Hartman and Kristian Milliner. The STEM Coordinator is Carla Young.

Old Mill – Leo Puccini, Jaden Hall, M.J. Wafford, Jacob Doyle, Layla Whittinghill, Elle Wathen, Sammi Hethcox and Haley Patel. The STEM Coordinators are Brandi Forman and Karen Brown

Overdale – Lillian Burk, Nathan Osteen, Derek Scott, Michael Hill, Alijea Durbin, Kiri Mellick and Hallie Spears. Whitney Voyles is the STEM Coordinator.

Roby – Lydia O’Donnell, Taylor Williams, Lauren carter, Madelyn Chandler, Easton Henon, Aiden Bartley, Cate Hunt and Eli Hughes. The STEM Coordinator is Jacquelyn Clark.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Bullitt County Public Schools
1040 Highway 44 East
Shepherdsville, KY 40165